

# THE STATES assembled on Monday 4th June 2018, at 09.30 a.m. under the Presidency of the Bailiff, Sir William James Bailhache.

His Excellency the Lieutenant Governor, Air Chief Marshall Sir Stephen Dalton, G.C.B., LL.D. (Hon.), D.Sc. (Hon.), B.Sc., F.R.Ae.S., C.C.M.I. was present.

All members were present at roll call.	
Prayers	

### Filming in the Chamber

THE STATES noted that the media had been permitted to film part of the proceedings on the occasion of the first meeting of the new States and the selection of the Chief Minister designate.

### Chief Minister designate - nominations and selection

THE STATES noted that, in accordance with the provisions of Standing Order 115(1), two nominations had been received by the Greffier of the States for the office of Chief Minister designate, as follows –

Senator Ian Joseph Gorst, nominated by -

Senator Kristina Louise Moore
Senator Stephen William Pallett
The Connétable of St. Helier
The Connétable of St. Lawrence
The Connétable of Trinity
Deputy Susan Jane Pinel of St. Clement
Deputy Richard John Rondel of St. Helier
The Deputy of St. Ouen
Deputy Scott Michael Wickenden of St. Helier
Deputy Graham John Truscott of St. Brelade;

Senator John Alexander Nicholas Le Fondré, nominated by –

Senator Sarah Craig Ferguson

The Connétable of St. Brelade

The Connétable of Grouville

The Connétable of St. John

The Connétable of St. Peter

The Connétable of St. Mary

The Connétable of St. Ouen

The Connétable of St. Martin

Deputy Judith Ann Martin of St. Helier

Deputy Kevin Charles Lewis of St. Saviour

The Deputy of St. Mary

STATES MINUTES 4th June 2018

Deputy John Hilary Young of St. Brelade Deputy Lindsay Barry Edward Ash of St. Clement Deputy Gregory Charles Umberto Guida of St. Lawrence The Deputy of St. Peter.

In accordance with the provisions set out in Standing Order 116, the Bailiff invited the Greffier of the States to read out the nominations, following which, lots were drawn to determine the order in which the candidates would speak for a period of up to 10 minutes and be questioned thereafter for a period of up to one hour by elected members; Senator John Alexander Nicholas Le Fondré was drawn first and Senator Ian Joseph Gorst was drawn second. Each candidate withdrew from the Chamber whilst the other spoke and answered questions during the periods allotted.

THE STATES, having proceeded to a recorded vote in accordance with Standing Order 116, were informed of the results by the Bailiff as follows –

Senator John Alexander Nicholas Le Fondré 30 Senator Ian Joseph Gorst 19

Members present voted as follows -

## MEMBERS VOTING FOR SENATOR LE FONDRÉ (30 VOTES)

Senator S.C. Ferguson

Senator J.A.N. Le Fondré

Senator S.Y. Mézec

The Connétable of St. Saviour

The Connétable of St. Brelade

The Connétable of Grouville

The Connétable of St. John

The Connétable of St. Peter

The Connétable of St. Mary

The Connétable of St. Ouen

The Connétable of St. Martin

Deputy J.A. Martin of St. Helier

Deputy G.P. Southern of St. Helier

The Deputy of Grouville

Deputy K.C. Lewis of St. Saviour

Deputy M. Tadier of St. Brelade

Deputy J.M. Maçon of St. Saviour

Deputy R. Labey of St. Helier

The Deputy of St. Mary

Deputy J.H. Young of St. Brelade

Deputy L.B.E. Ash of St. Clement

Deputy K.F. Morel of St. Lawrence

Deputy G.C.U. Guida of St. Lawrence

The Deputy of St. Peter

The Deputy of Trinity

The Deputy of St. John

Deputy S.M. Ahier of St. Helier

Deputy J.H. Perchard of St. Saviour

Deputy R.J. Ward of St. Helier

Deputy C.S. Alves of St. Helier.

STATES MINUTES 4th June 2018

## MEMBERS VOTING FOR SENATOR GORST (19 VOTES)

Senator I.J. Gorst

Senator L.J. Farnham

Senator T.A. Vallois

Senator K.L. Moore

Senator S.W. Pallett

The Connétable of St. Helier

The Connétable of St. Clement

The Connétable of St. Lawrence

The Connétable of Trinity

Deputy M.R. Higgins of St. Helier

Deputy S.J. Pinel of St. Clement

The Deputy of St. Martin

Deputy R.J. Rondel of St. Helier

The Deputy of St. Ouen

Deputy L.M.C. Doublet of St. Saviour

Deputy S.M. Wickenden of St. Helier

Deputy G.J. Truscott of St. Brelade

Deputy M.R. Le Hegarat of St. Helier

Deputy K.G. Pamplin of St. Saviour.

THE STATES rose at 12.10 p.m.

DR. M. EGAN

Greffier of the States